Close this search box.

New association appointments

3 min read

Lisa Sthalekar is the first female to be appointed to the Australian Cricketers’ Association (ACA) Executive.

The Southern Stars and Breakers veteran has enjoyed an enormously successful on-field career and has worked for Cricket NSW for almost eight years in game development and in her current role as Youth Programs Manager.

“I’m delighted to join the ACA Executive,” Sthalekar said.

“Having served on the ACA’s Women’s Executive for a number of years, this role is a great opportunity to expand my involvement in a broad range of areas for all players.

“It’s exciting that doors are opening for female players to influence the game and I look forward to making a strong contribution to not just women’s cricket, but for players right across the board.”

ACA Chief Executive Paul Marsh said Sthalekar’s “appointment reflects not only the skills she brings to the table, but also the evolving cricket landscape and the importance that all of the ACA’s membership categories are represented on the Executive.”

The current Western Australian captain Marcus North has also been appointed to the Executive of the ACA.

“I’m really excited to be in position to provide an input into cricket in this sort of capacity,” North said.

“Current players obviously have an excellent understanding of what’s happening in the game and I look forward to providing that perspective on behalf of my fellow players.”

Marsh welcomed the new appointments.

“We’re thrilled to have two experienced, passionate and intelligent players on board,” he said.

“Both Lisa and Marcus have represented their States and Australia with distinction and proven to be great assets to the ACA through their involvement in other roles to date.

The two players fill casual vacancies created by the resignations of Stuart Clark (Sydney Sixers) and Damien Fleming (Melbourne Stars), who have departed to avoid conflicts with their other roles.

Adrian Ballintine, the Founder and CEO of Australia’s largest specialist satellite communications company NewSat, has been appointed to the Board of Directors for the World Teleport Association (WTA), joining an international group of elite Directors.

Since 1985 the WTA has focused on improving the business of satellite communications by advocating for the interests of teleport operators in the global telecommunications market and promoting excellence in teleport business practice, technology and operations.

WTA Executive Director Robert Bell said “We are excited to welcome Adrian Ballintine to the WTA board. Adrian’s vast experience in the satellite industry will bring expertise and knowledge to both the Board and WTA members. NewSat has had spectacular growth under Adrian’s leadership and its Jabiru Ka-band satellites are on track to revolutionise the satellite industry.”

Ballintine is one of three new directors joining the WTA Board. Ballintine joins new Directors Tomaz Lovsin, Managing Director of STN (Slovenia), and Bill Tillson, President and COO of Encompass Digital Media (USA).

Bell said “We are extremely fortunate to have the support of such an accomplished group of industry professionals. Their passion for the Teleport industry drives the Association to provide support and value to members and the industry as a whole.”

Ballintine’s appointment to the WTA Board of Directors follows his Teleport Executive of the Year Award won earlier this year at the 2011 World Teleport Awards in Washington DC, USA.

Ballintine said “It is a great honour to be appointed to the WTA Board. NewSat has always had a strong relationship with the WTA and commends the WTA’s dedication to Teleport operators and the satellite industry. The WTA has a very prestigious position in the world of Teleports. As an Australian listed company, with two Australian Teleports, I know the value that organisations like the WTA can bring to the table. I look forward to working closely with the WTA Board to assist the Association in providing the latest in Teleport technology, operations and innovation to members.”

Third Sector congratulates Sthalekar, North, Ballintine, Lovsin and Tillson to their new roles.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Up

For the latest news, delivered straight to inbox please fill in the details below