Close this search box.
Partnerships Appointments Latest Appointments

Experienced director and Australian business figure to lead Bush Heritage board

2 min read

National not-for-profit Bush Heritage Australia warmly welcomes Sue O’Connor, a highly experienced Australian business leader, as its board president.

She replaces outgoing president Chris Grubb who has served on the Bush Heritage board for nine years, including as president for the past three.

Sue is an experienced business leader who has served as a Chair, Director and senior busines leader with ASXTop10 and global unlisted companies as well as high profile statutory authorities and not for profits.

Sue’s storied executive career spans 25 years in the technology sector including 13 years as a senior executive at Telstra. She brings to the board considerable commercial acumen and expertise in technology, climate change, financial services and utilities.

Bush Heritage Chief Executive Officer Heather Campbell congratulated Sue on her appointment and thanked outgoing board director Chris Grubb for his loyal service.

“Sue’s long and varied business career make her an excellent fit for the Bush Heritage board,” he said. “Her knowledge of the technology sector and climate change in particular will be invaluable in guiding Bush Heritage to deliver its vital conservation work across Australia. I would also like to extend my warmest thanks to Chris for his achievements over the past nine years. His leadership has been characterised by strength and innovation and he leaves a remarkable legacy.”

Commenting on her appointment, Sue said, “Australia has such wonderful and unique ecosystems. To be part of a wonderful organisation like Bush Heritage Australia and make my contribution as President to help to conserve and enhance Australia’s unique ecosystems is both an honour and responsibility. I look forward to working with our staff, volunteers, partners and donors to deliver on this important mission.”

Bush Heritage’s priorities over the next 12 months include investing directly in priority ecosystems, strengthening the science program and continuing the growth of a thriving partnerships program with Aboriginal people, particularly in northern Australia.

In addition to Bush Heritage, Sue is currently Chair of Yarra Valley Water and sites on the board of the Treasury Corporation of Victoria, Mercer Superannuation, think tank ClimateWorks Australia and technology company Kordia.

She holds a Bachelor of Applied Science, and a Graduate of Diploma Business Management. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

When she’s not fulfilling her various board commitments, Sue enjoys photography and using her art to promote conversations about the environment and our relationship with the natural world. Sue will serve on the Bush Heritage Board alongside existing Bush Heritage board members Nicholas Burton Taylor AM (Vice President and treasurer); Avelina Tarrago, Prof Sarah Bekessy; Phillip Cornwell; Dr Alexander Gosling AM; Prof Michelle Leishman and Dr Rebecca Nelson.

+ posts

Pearl Dy is a community manager and journalist. She is passionate about business and development particularly involving not-for-profits, charity and social entrepreneurship.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Up