Close this search box.
Charities Community Organisations Associations

New appointments

2 min read

The Minister for Indigenous Health Warren Snowdon announced that Professor Ian Anderson will continue as Chair and that Tanya Hosch is the new Deputy Chair of the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Equality Council, formerly called the National Indigenous Health Equality Council.

Seven new members have also been appointed to the Council, including four Indigenous members.

The National Indigenous Health Equality Council was established in 2008 to advise the Government on ways to achieve equitable and sustainable health outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians.

“The Council will continue to advise the Australian Government on the development and monitoring of health-related goals and targets to support our commitments to closing the life expectancy gap and reducing the unacceptably high rates of child mortality among Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people,” Snowdon said.

“The council will advise me on the development of a National Indigenous Health Plan, and the development and monitoring of health related goals and targets. This will support the Council of Australian Governments’ commitment to closing the gap in outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.”

The Australian Forest Products Association (AFPA) welcomes Dr David Pollard as its inaugural Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

“With the appointment of David, AFPA has a CEO who can build the organisation and enable it to lead the newly integrated forest products industry as it responds to its changing challenges and opportunities,” said Transitional Chair of AFPA Linda Sewell.

For the last seven years Dr Pollard headed VicForests, the commercial timber corporation of the Victorian Government. Prior to this he held a number of senior management positions with the Victorian and Commonwealth Governments in the areas of industry development, economic policy and finance. These roles included Victorian Commissioner of State Revenue and Assistant Commissioner of the Productivity Commission.

Third Sector wishes Prof. Ian Anderson, Tanya Hosch and Dr David Pollard well in their new roles.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Up