Close this search box.
Awards Health Events Latest News

Nominations now open for the 2023 Michelle Beets award for inspirational pediatric care

2 min read

The Humpty Dumpty Foundation announces nominations are now open for the 2023 Michelle Beets Award for Inspirational Paediatric Care which recognises metropolitan and regional health professionals who inspire peers through their efforts to advance the health of children in New South Wales. 

Presented to individuals working within NSW Health who deliver neonatal and paediatric care across the full spectrum of clinical practice including medical, midwifery, nursing, and allied health, the Michelle Beets Award for Inspirational Paediatric Care honours the memory of Michelle Beets, a devoted and highly respected nurse who worked at Royal North Shore Hospital and tragically lost her life in 2010.   

“Honouring the memory of Michelle Beets and her dedication to nursing practice education, the award recognises the exceptional skill, competence and commitment of child health clinicians right across our state,” said Humpty Dumpty Foundation CEO & Managing Director, Claire Reaney. 

This year there will be one winner from metropolitan New South Wales and one regional winner from the state.  Winners will each receive $25,000 worth of medical equipment through the Humpty Dumpty Foundation for use in their facility and a $5,000 bursary for professional development, training or research.   

The Hon. Ryan Park MP, NSW Minister for Health, NSW Minister for Regional Health, and Minister for the Illawarra and the South Coast will continue NSW Government’s funding support of the award.  

Entrants must be nominated by a peer or colleague and the award is open to any individual health professional employed within NSW Health.  Entries should demonstrate how the nominee meets the award criteria of clinical excellence in neonatal/paediatric care, commitment to the principles of person-centred care, innovation and improvements in the quality of care, and inspiring others. 

“Humpty’s mission has always been to ensure every Australian child has access to the healthcare they need, no matter where they live, and it is with the unwavering commitment of metropolitan and regional health professionals that these positive outcomes can be achieved for Australian children,” added Reaney. 

“We thank the Hon. Ryan Park MP, NSW Minister for Health for continuing NSW Health’s support of this important award and look forward to receiving nominations from across metropolitan, rural and regional parts of News South Wales.”  

The judging panel for this year’s award includes: 

  • Dr. Matthew O’Meara, NSW Chief Paediatrician 
  • A/Professor Kath Browning Carmo, Executive Director NSW Newborn and Paediatric Emergency Transport Service 
  • Dr Helen Goodwin, Director of Paediatrics, NSW Health 
  • Priya Govindaswamy, Clinical Nurse Consultant, NSW Health 
  • Richard Cheney, Executive Director, NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation 
  • Paul Francis OAM, Founder and Chairman, Humpty Dumpty Foundation. 
Website | + posts

Menchie Khairuddin is a writer Deputy Content Manager at Akolade and content producer for Third Sector News. She is passionate about social affairs specifically in mixed, multicultural heritage and not-for-profit organisations.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Stories

Next Up