Close this search box.
Charities Community Organisations Associations Finance

Not-for-profit sector sweeps 2009 Melbourne Awards

2 min read

Susan Barton, founder and director of the Lighthouse Foundation took out the highest honour, being named Melburnian of the Year. The award recognises Barton’s dedication and commitment to reducing youth homelessness in Melbourne and regional Victoria through the Foundation’s eight centres in Victoria.

“This is the fifth year that the Melburnian of the Year award has been presented, designed to pay tribute to high profile individuals who have made exceptional contributions in their field and to the community,” Lord Mayor Robert Doyle said.

“The Awards pay homage to noteworthy individuals and organisations that make Melbourne a better place to live, work and visit.”

Melbourne-based not-for-profit (NFP), the Centre for Sustainability Leadership was given the award for Contribution to Environment Award in the Community Organisation Division.

The Centre was recognised for its innovative ‘Green MBA’ Fellowship Program: one of only a few courses in the world and the only Australian program to combine leadership training with sustainability education.

The Homeless Person’s Legal Clinic (HPLC), an initiative of the Public Interest Law Clearing House, was recognised for its Contribution to Community in the Community Organisation Division. The award recognises HPLC’s provision of free legal assistance to, and advocacy on behalf of, over 4,000 people in Victoria since its inception just eight years ago.

“The Melbourne Awards recognise the city’s achievers who have made significant contributions to Melbourne’s outstanding quality of life, economic growth and commitment to the environment,” Deputy Lord Mayor, Susan Riley said.

“Our city’s achievements stem from the passionate work of these individuals and organisations that are proud to be Melbourne based.”

The omnipresence of the NFP sector in Melbourne was further highlighted by the recognition of individuals and organisations receiving awards in divisions outside of the Community Division.

The Melbourne Cricket Club was awarded for its Contribution to Profile and Ellen Sandal received the individual honour for Contribution to Environment for her work as the Victorian Director of the Australian Youth Climate Coalition.

+ posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Up