Close this search box.

Third Sector Award winners announced

2 min read

ACNC Commissioner Susan Pascoe AM, a passionate young leader and a sustainability pioneer are among eight winners in the 2017 Third Sector Awards – an annual awards celebrating leadership with purpose and best practice in Australia’s not-for-profit sector.
The winners of the Third Sector Awards, presented by Spark Strategy, were revealed at a ceremony at the Plaza Ballroom in Melbourne on 7 September.
Third Sector, in partnership with the Centre for Social Impact and a team of judges, scored hundreds of entries across multiple categories to showcase the very best in the sector. The winners represented the rich variety of Australia’s not-for-profit world, from health and wellbeing to advocacy.
Winners and finalists are listed below:

  • Influencer of the Year – Judge’s Choice
    Winner: Susan Pascoe AM – ACNC
  • CEO of the Year 
    Winner: Lisa Cotton – The Funding Network Australia
    Runner-up: Annabelle Daniel – Women’s Community Shelters
  • Board Director of the Year 
    Winner: Nick Ridehalgh – Camp Quality
    Runner up: Marcus Ilton – Heart Foundation
  • Campaign Manager of the Year
    Winner: Cheryl Johns – Good 360
    Runner-up: Susan Williams – Heart Foundation
  • Volunteer of the Year 
    Winner: Norman Wong – Northside
    Runner-up: Simone O’Brien – White Ribbon Advocate
  • Social Entrepreneur of the Year 
    Winner: Ido Leffler and Lance Kalish – Yoobi
    Runner-up: Josh Ross & Adam McCurdie – Humanitix
  • Young Leader of the Year             
    Winner: Madeleine Buchner – Little Dreamers
    Runner-up: Taj Pabari –  Fiftysix Creations
  • Emerging Leader of the Year      
    Winner: Hunter Johnson – HeadQuarters Australia
    Runner-up: Alexandra Iljadica – Youth Food Movement Australia.

Speaking at the ceremony in Melbourne, Pascoe said she was surprised and delighted to receive the award.
“I was surprised to be nominated for this award,” she said. “But it truly is an honour to receive it. I would like to thank Third Sector, in partnership with the Centre for Social Impact, for acknowledging the contribution of many exceptional individuals in the not-for-profit sector through these awards.
“These awards are a reflection of the hard work and dedication of many, particularly my colleagues at the ACNC, and I represented them at the award ceremony with great pride.
“I would also like to acknowledge the Australian Government’s support of the ACNC.”
The ceremony was held in conjunction with Third Sector Live – an annual conference for leaders and decision makers in the not-for-profit sector. This year’s sessions focused on the latest trends and best practice in leadership, governance, marketing, communications, fundraising and people and culture. The speaker lineup for the 2-day event included names like Advertising for Humanity’s Dan Pallotta, Emergent CEO Holly Ransom and OzHarvest CEO Ronni Kahn.


You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Stories

Next Up

For the latest news, delivered straight to inbox please fill in the details below