Close this search box.
Charities Community Organisations Governance Associations

National awards recognise outstanding contributors to health research

2 min read

Research Australia is the peak not-for-profit body for health and medical research. It is a national alliance of more than 180 member and supporting organisations working together to promote health and medical research in Australia.

The Thank You Day campaign runs throughout November to raise awareness of health and medical research in the community.

Rebecca James, Chief Executive Officer, Research Australia said the Thank You Day campaign is important as it recognises the unsung heroes of the health and medical research sector.

“Thank You Day is about acknowledging the hard work of researchers, business leaders, advocates, and philanthropists who make our health and quality of life their top priority,” said James.

“The awards celebrate the achievements of individuals and organisations that have helped further research in Australia through corporate giving, philanthropy, advocacy or their own research contributions”.

This year’s winners are:

  • Macquarie Group Foundation Great Australian Philanthropy Award: Clive Berghofer AM

    Berghofer’s personal contributions, including one of $7 million, have helped make Queensland a leader in medical research.

  • Victorian Government Leadership and Innovation Award: Professor Joseph Sambrook

    An internationally renowned cancer researcher, Professor Sambrook has led world ranking research into breast and other cancers.

  • Griffith University Discovery Award: Dr Sarah Whittle

    Dr Whittle’s discovery on how the structure of teenagers brains relates to their personality and behaviour has significant implications for understanding a range of psychiatric disorders in adolescence.

  • Advocacy Award: Professor Ian Hickie AM

    Professor Hickie has been instrumental in ensuring Australians understand the importance of addressing depression and nurturing our brains.

  • Leadership in Corporate Giving Award: Macquarie Group Foundation

    The Macquarie Group Foundation has supported health and medical research for more than 36 years, currently through partnerships with Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Australia and MS Research Australia.

  • Research Australia Lifetime Achievement Award: Elaine Henry OAM

    Henry has an extensive record of community contribution and oversaw the establishment of many programs and fundraising events during her 12 years as Executive Director of the NSW Cancer Council.

+ posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Up