Close this search box.
Charities Community Organisations Associations HR

New chair for the Council of the Australian Institute of Marine Science

< 1 min read

“Congratulations to Mr Osborn on his appointment to chair the AIMS Council – and to Mr John Grace and Ms Elizabeth Montano on their re-appointment as members,” said Senator Carr, Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research.

“Mr Osborn is an experienced director whose skills as chairman will be invaluable to the future management of AIMS.

“His links to WA and his extensive business experience, recently as managing director of Alcoa Australia, will be of great benefit to AIMS, and to marine science as a whole.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Dr Ian Gould for his contribution to AIMS. Dr Gould has provided strong leadership to the organisation as chairman since 2005 and prior to this was a member of the council since 2002,” Senator Carr said.

Dr Gould’s term as chair ends on 31 December 2009, following two terms on the AIMS Council.

“This is an exciting time to be connected with the governance of AIMS, Australia’s only research organisation dedicated entirely to marine research, science and technology,” Senator Carr said.

“There are some big jobs ahead for this high calibre council – including overseeing the construction of the $55 million Tropical Marine Research Facility announced as part of the Government’s Super Science Package in the last budget.”

+ posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Up