Close this search box.
Charities Community Organisations Associations

Composition of Government’s NFP Reform Council announced

< 1 min read

Minister Plibersek said “The council will help drive the government’s plans to reform the sector including cutting red tape which will free up resources and assist not-for-profits [NFPs] do what they do best – help people.”

The council will be chaired by Linda Lavarch from the Australian Centre of Philanthropic and Nonprofit studies, and will include a list of eminent figures from the sector.

Full membership of the council includes:

  • Linda Lavarch – Australian Centre for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Studies
  • Anne Robinson – Prolegis Lawyers
  • Glenn Appleyard – Australian Accounting Standards Board
  • Ken Baker – National Disability Services
  • Sandy Blackburn-Wright – Westpac, Community Development
  • Kasy Chambers – Anglicare
  • Michael Coleman – KPMG
  • David Crosbie – Community Council for Australia
  • Cassandra Goldie – Australian Council of Social Service
  • Suzie Hazlehurst – Magabala Books Aboriginal Corporation
  • Evelyn O’Loughlin – Volunteering SA and NT
  • Frank Quinlan – Catholic Social Services Australia

Plibersek said that the council will examine the scope of a national one-stop-shop regulator, provide advice on streamlining tendering and contracting processes for government funded NFPs and consider harmonisation of federal, state and territory laws on fundraising.

Data collected by the Australian Bureau of Statistics identified 59,000 economically significant NFP organisations which contribute nearly $43 billion to Australia’s gross domestic product each year.

There are also more than five million volunteers who work for NFPs, with an equivalent wage value of $15 billion per annum.

“The creation of the council fulfils an important election promise and demonstrates the government’s ongoing commitment to the not-for-profit sector,” said Minister Plibersek.

+ posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Up